Anthony McCall part II – and another 5 galleries (I got a bit carried away)

17 Mar

It’s important to remember that the Anthony McCall exhibition is in two parts and, today, I popped into Sprüth Magers to see Works on Paper.  The exhibition includes a selection of drawings and photographs from the last 40 years of McCall’s career as well as a video of the most recent working maquette of his upcoming Column for the Cultural Olympiad. 

I would be unfair if I didn’t say the exhibition was interesting and I enjoyed seeing the working drawings for the light works but (you could tell there was a but coming, couldn’t you?) I think it would have been better to see this first.  After the sensational experience of wandering through the projected light works yesterday, the drawings didn’t quite capture my imagination or live up to my expectations.

Image via www.spruethmagers.com

Don’t get me wrong – there is no doubt that McCall is a very talented artist (and you probably realised from yesterday’s post that I’m rather smitten) but looking at the preparatory works after seeing the actual thing was rather like watching the trickle of a stream after visiting the Niagara Falls.  Pretty but not quite the same.

Image via www.spruethmagers.com

Even so, it’s worth a visit but, if possible, head to Sprüth Magers before Ambika P3.

Before I sign off, last night I had rather a hectic gallery dash around London that I’d like to share.  First, I stopped by Alon Zakaim Fine Art for another look at the Robert Marc exhibition.  If you haven’t yet been this one is definitely worth a visit.  Marc’s paintings have been hidden away for the past 20 years and this is their first showing in the UK.  Working in the Cubist style, his paintings are rich and complex with a palette and surface quality that warms and harmonises his geometrically constructed planes of colour.  Really beautiful pieces that you can’t help but like.  My personal favourite (see the image below) is hanging above the gallery manager’s desk upstairs so don’t be afraid to ask for a peek.  The exhibition is split over Alon Zakaim and E&R Cyzer until 8th April. 

Image courtesy of E&R Cyzer and Alon Zakaim Fine Art

Then I headed across to Hauser & Wirth where two exhibitions were opening: Dieter Roth and Ida Applebroog.  Although an undeniably, beautifully-curated exhibition, I’m afraid the Dieter Roth did nothing for me.  With 31,035 slides showing simultaneously on multiple projectors, the gallery has been transformed into a dynamic cinema.  Although distinctive, the images didn’t inspire me. 

Image via www.hauserwirth.com

The Applebroog, in their South Gallery, plays with an unusual installation where paintings are balanced on top of one another, leaning against walls and even laid flat on the floor.  Be careful where you tread in case they charge you when you stiletto one!

Image via www.hauserwirth.com

Finally I walked down Savile Row to James Hyman who currently has two photography exhibitions on display until 23rd April: Shai Kremer and Exposure 2011.  The Kremer compositions are really engaging, focusing on issues of the transience of civilisation and the legitimacy of imperialism. 

Image via www.jameshymanphotography.com

Exposure 2011 presents the six winners of the 2010 National Media Museum Photography Awards.  Works range from cruise-ship photography and the holiday camps at Butlin’s to images of meteorites and photographs of the post-conflict landscape of Northern Ireland. 

Image via www.jameshymanphotography.com

Some names to watch here and I’d recommend following in my footsteps down Savile Row one lunchtime if you’re lucky enough to have a spare hour.

Incidentally, for those of you now following the saga of my footwear – yes, my feet were rather sore by the end of my gallery marathon.

www.spruethmagers.com

www.alonzakaim.com

www.cyzerart.com

www.hauserwirth.com

www.jameshymanphotography.com

Leave a Reply

